Joining Curiosity Quills for our inaugural Author Spotlight: Question & Answer Coloumn, is David D. Dammons, author of newly released humorous urban-fantasy RASPUTIN’S SUPERNATURAL DATING SERVICE, which hit Amazon on January 9, 2017!

In the comments, please join us in asking David anything you’d like to know about writing, his new book, and life in Springfield, MO. Or you know, just throw something completely random at him to keep him on his toes!


Who are you and where do you call home right now?

David D. Hammons. Springfield, MO, USA, Planet Earth, Milky Way Galaxy, Greater Galaxy Cluster, Shared Delusion of Reality, the Universe.

Tell us about your latest book: one of your inspirations for it, how you got through your most difficult challenge in writing it, and what you love about it?
It’s all about monsters using a dating site. My wife and I met online, so I used us as inspirations of a sort. I love humanizing stories, and oddly enough monsters have very few humanizing stories. And what’s more normal/humanizing than dating? So the idea of monsters struggling with dating just tickled me. Probably the hardest was balancing gender tropes, as I wanted to challenge current assumptions but not offend anyone. Being humorous without hurting anyone’s feelings is very hard, and I hope I did that, but if not I’m sorry.

What are a few of your hobbies?

I love reading history books and studying history. I play video games too and my wife and I love DnD and other geeky stuff.

If you had your own food truck, what would it serve?

That would imply I would cook, so probably red beans and rice or ‘jambalaya’ made from whatever is near expiration at the grocery store.

What do you want to get better at doing, writing-wise?

I’d love to get better at writing from the perspective of a different culture. It’s hard to avoid writing like a white male, and I’d like to get a wider variety of voices from my writing.

What TV series are you into right now and why?

Hell on Wheels, because my wife is really into Civil War-era history right now. Though it’s kinda jumped the shark lately.

What movie do you quote the most?

That’s not the question you’re looking for.

What do you collect, even a little bit? Tell us about your favorite one.

I have a collection of veterans’ medals from WW1 and WW2. It started when my grandfather gave me his after he died, so I started adding them. I have all the major powers except for Great Britain, France, and Italy in WW2, and I just started with Austria and Germany for WW1. They’re not really special, just veteran medals, but together they show the common humanity of all the war’s many countries and their simple soldiers sharing in this terrifying experience.

What’s your preferred genre of book when you just want to escape?

Fantasy or Science Fiction. That or a crazy Vonnegut book.

What do you like to do on vacation?

Go to crazy interesting restaurants/bars and find historical sites or museums, do some light smuggling.

Is there another genre you’ve been itching to write in?

Historical. Maybe nonfiction in the future.

What unusual object do you like to bring with you if you leave the house?

Raki glasses.

If you had a champion racing pigeon, what would you name it and what would its tagline be?

Kaiserschlacht: I DIDN’T SIGN UP FOR THIS!

Finally, give us one recommendation for something - movie, TV, game, food - that you enjoyed recently.

Raki, it’s like absinthe you can drink like beer. And it’s Turkish, which is neat.

About Rasputin’s Supernatural Dating Service

Monsters, ghosts, dead, undead, and Frankensteins still unsure if they’re depressed because they’re abominations against existence or if it’s just been forever since they’ve been laid, all can find love with Rasputin’s Supernatural Dating Service!
Eli Kowalski has seen his share of freaks as a Certifier for Rasputin’s Supernatural Dating Service. It’s his job to weed out the real monsters from the weirdos with too much black lipstick. While on a routine certification, he comes across the Tablet of Nicaea. A powerful witch and self-proclaimed “Men’s Rights Activist” wants to steal the tablet and use it to kill all supernatural creatures so that “nice guys” like him can have a better chance with women. Eli must unite with the supernatural policing agency, the witch’s ex-girlfriend, and the constantly-naked Rasputin to save supernatural creatures in the name of love. He’ll probably excuse himself from Rasputin’s victory orgy, though.
Rasputin’s Supernatural Dating Service casts a humorous, silly light on romance in the paranormal community. Fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s Good Omens and Christopher Moore’s A Dirty Job will find similarities in the book’s comedic treatment of the supernatural.

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Goodreads