About The Outs

Caleb has been changing ever since the memory-stealing blackouts started. He’s always been the good, dependable, honor-student son, but now his parents have vanished. A voice inside keeps telling him their disappearance is his fault. And the voice keeps getting louder. Taunting him. Threatening him.

And now Caleb’s kidnapped a little girl. He did it to protect her, but he’s starting to wonder if he’s the one she needs protection from.

Then there’s his comic-book-fangirl friend, Kitzi. Kitzi knows a secret she can’t share. It’s locked up in her head behind the brain damage that took away her ability to talk to people. Kitzi wants to help Caleb, but she suspects a connection between this little girl and the Outs—one that threatens the whole world. If she can survive Caleb’s mistakes and the strange little girl’s reality-bending fits long enough to put the pieces together, her secret might save them. Or it could mean the end of everything.

For fans of Brandon Sanderson’s STEELHEART and Jonathan Maberry’s ROT & RUIN, as well as those who enjoy manga like FULLMETAL ALCHEMIST and mainstream comics.

Reviews for The Outs

My mind has been completely blown away by this book.
I can’t even…

WOW

‘’The Outs’’ takes us to a world where every day, at some point in your routine, there’s a wave that turn everything off. Cars, lights, technology, even our brains. What happen in the Outs stays in the Outs, because you can’t remember what happen.
Not unless you’re a brain-damaged girl with aphasia whose super power is to talk and remember everything that happens during the Outs.
This book follows two points of views, Kitzi’s and Caleb’s (or Cap as she prefers to call him – it’s easier and he makes her [...]

StarStarStarStarStar(5/5 Stars)
()

This book is like jumping onto a roller coaster at night during a thunderstorm, and there's no guarantee that the ride will end where it should.

The Outs started months before. Electricity disappears. Cars won't run. Terrifying things happen. Deadly things. But when the lights go back on, everything's forgotten as if it never happened at all. Only the remaining chaotic scenes remain. Caleb is caught up in the thick of it, not sure what horrible acts he's committing. And Kitzi, his friend, is the only one who remembers. She's the only one who truly sees.

If you're in search of [...]

StarStarStarStarStar(4/5 Stars)
()

Pros: Fresh premise. Strong blend of sci-fi, fantasy and paranormal. Imaginative, hectic story without a dull moment. Tridimensional (and diverse) characters. Focus on friendship and loyalty.
Cons: Might seem a bit frenzied and confusing to some. Concise writing with short sentences might not appeal to everyone.
WARNING! Gory and scary in parts, with gruesome deaths and suicide.
Will appeal to: Those who are looking for a breathtaking story with a strong accent on friendship and an unusual heroine.

First off...DISCLAIMER: I am a semi-regular reviewer of Curiosity Quills titles (like this one), but if you look back at my ratings, this never prevented me [...]

StarStarStarStarStar(5/5 Stars)
()