About Ascendant Unrest

Two weeks after Maya tried to change the world, little has changed. Little, except for a nine-year-old’s building fear that her ex-mother’s revenge waits around every corner.

When her face appeared on every still-working video monitor along the Eastern Seaboard, streaming her plea and her evidence all over the planet, she thought they’d won. Alas, her fairy tale dream died. The Authority didn’t become noble overnight. Her ex-mother didn’t face punishment for her crimes. The lack of any retribution, or even any effort on the part of the Brigade to hide her, only fans the flames of her worry.

To make matters worse, her best friend Sarah is hiding a painful secret.

Maya’s fears come to fruition in the middle of the night. In a hail of gunfire, she and Sarah flee into the dangerous streets of the Habitation District, rife with dosers, street gangs, corrupt Authority officers, chased by an unknown enemy worse than Ascendant.

They don’t want to kidnap her―they want her dead.

Reviews for Ascendant Unrest

As I very much enjoyed "Heir Ascendant", the first book in the Faded Skies series, I was eagerly awaiting the release of the sequel schedued for 24th July 2018. Lucky for me I was able to nab an advanced copy from the wonderful world of NetGalley. I tend to be rather selective when it comes to choosing which Science Fiction books I read, I know what i'm looking for and what I like in a scifi title.

This series follows protagonist Maya Oman who wants nothing more than to live a meaningful life. Instead she ends up living in fear [...]

StarStarStarStarStar(5/5 Stars)

Blending complex characters and plausible future technology with a starkly unequal society, Cox offers another mature and engaging addition to the cyberpunk genre that also offers much to readers of other genres.

This is the second book in the Faded Skies series. Spoilers might occur.

Two weeks ago, Maya Oman revealed to the world that Ascendant, her birth mother’s corporation, were deliberately releasing a bio-weapon into civilian populations so they could sell the cure. She, and the disadvantaged among whom she’d made a home, thought she’d started a change. But, instead of arrests and a police force no longer in thrall to [...]

StarStarStarStarStar(4/5 Stars)