Double 99 Cents Sale, by Clare Dugmore
Amy Bearce’s MG fantasy, Mer-Charmer and Aiden James & Michelle Wright’s historical romance Murder in Whitechapel are both 99 cents; July 21-22! About Mer-Charmer Magic, adventure, romance, and a wonderfully creepy villain—The Little Mermaid wishes it was this book!” – Heidi Schulz, New York Times bestselling author of Hook’s Revenge. “Bearce creates a vivid, colorful […]
Ghostbusters (or Not), by Robert J Defendi writing as Bob Defendi
So I originally wrote an unbiased review of the new Ghostbusters movie and posted it here, but then I came back in time from the resulting dystopian future and stopped myself. So instead I spent the weekend working a charity tournament at the local game store, Dragon’s Keep. They seem to be having some trouble […]
Transcending Medium, by Robert J Defendi writing as Bob Defendi
If you ask people about a game or a comic or a TV show that moved them, they will usually speak in imprecise language. Words like “awesome” and “moving” don’t tell us much. Comments like “I laughed” or “I cried” do better. Experts will be more precise, speaking of pacing, or structure or character arcs. […]
Paranormal Mystery Double Sale, by Clare Dugmore
Fans of Paranormal Mysteries, Curiosity Quills has a treat for you this weekend, as The Deathsniffer’s Assistant by Kate McIntyre is 99 Cents, and How To Date Dead Guys, by Ann Noser is free; July 17-18, 2016! The Deathsniffer’s Assistant by Kate McIntyre After losing his parents in the Floating Castle Incident, the sensitive and […]
The Banner Saga – Why Save Scumming Sucks, by Jason Purdy
The Banner Saga, a tactical role-playing video game reviewed by Jason Purdy.
Your First Published Novel: Part 23, by Robert J Defendi writing as Bob Defendi
Reviews can be hard. It’s likely that reviews are the most difficult part of the writing process for some writers. You pour you heart and mind into something for more than a year. You draw knives and fight with your editors about it. You market and you fret and you sweat and you weep. And […]
Your First Published Novel: Part 22, by Robert J Defendi writing as Bob Defendi
It’s been a month since the release of the book. Sales are, not surprisingly, sagging a bit. I didn’t manage to generate much advertising this week. The Dungeon Crawlers Radio people have been generous enough to post some audio sample chapters, but those haven’t worked as well as I hoped. However, I noticed after the last […]
“Inside” a Video Game Review, by Jason Purdy
Jason Purdy reviews "Inside" a platform game by Playdead made exclusively for Xbox One.
COVER REVEAL AND PRE-ORDER: The Gold and Gaslight Chronicles, by Andrea Berthot, by Clare Dugmore
Those who love historical-fantasy and re-tellings, especially Andrea Berthot’s The Heartless City, are in for a treat today, as we unveil the brand new covers for books one and two, open pre-orders for book two, and announce a special contest!! The Heartless City – Out Now | New Cover | Paperback Currently Only $2.37! Henry […]
A Rough Week, by Robert J Defendi writing as Bob Defendi
I don’t have a lot to report this week, due to illness. We had one team join the Charity Tournament late, and I went back and finished their last round on Monday night. I’m not sure if it was that added effort, or if I caught a bug previously, but Tuesday I wasn’t feeling well. […]